Welcome

Butler Gallery Exhibition, 2015
Butler Gallery Exhibition, 2015

          Welcome to this BLOG site which serves more as a Web site than a Blog. I hope that you find the information you need here and if not please contact me via this site or at gypsyray@eircom.net

I am currently working on drawings which are titled “Mapping Animals”.  These drawings are square format, pencil overlay on paper exploring animal markings which when abstracted become like maps.

MappingAnimals, Cows, Gypsy Ray, 2018 copy

I continue to use fine art photography in my studio practice.  Most recently expanding a series of Holga Images which are concerned with “place”.

         Lake Michigan                     Swimming Hole, traditional photographic print, 2014 copy 2

In 2017 I exhibited drawings of landscape and blind contour portraits in a solo exhibition at the Kilkenny County Council’s Art Gallery in Kilkenny Cityy.  One of my photographic images from the Butler Gallery Collection was exhibited in their Collection’s Exhibition during 2017.  In 2015 the exhibition based on the “Townlands” series was exhibited at the Old Market Arts Centre in Dungarvan, County Waterford and a solo exhibition photographic work selected by the Director of the Butler Gallery, Anna O’Sullivan was on exhibit at the gallery from 2nd May until the 21 of June, 2015. Two images from this exhibition have been added to the David Kronn Collection which is housed at the Irish Museum of Modern Art.  Two other photographs have been added to the Butler Gallery Permanent Collection, Kilkenny, Ireland.

Tullabrin Landscape, Gypsy Ray, 2016 copy

Published by:

gypsyray

I studied drawing and photography during the 1970’s in the Fine Art Programme at the University of Iowa. An institution with renown for its Writer’s Workshop it also boasted an enlightened fine art programme, one of the first in the United States to incorporate photography into its degree programme giving full acknowledgment to the medium’s creative value. I received my undergraduate degree from this university and went on to receive a Masters in photography so that I might earn my living teaching this art form. I did this for over 25 years, in Art Departments throughout Central California at institutions such as the University of California at Berkeley, San Francisco City College, the University of California at Santa Cruz Extension Programme and Cabrillo College. During my career I have managed to maintain a strong studio practice and have been fortunate to have my work, both photography and drawing, published, exhibited and placed in collections internationally.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a comment